BJP VS Congress Who Is Next PM In 2024 ?

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is one of the major political parties in India. Established in 1980, it has emerged as the dominant force in Indian politics, particularly since the late 1990s. The party’s ideology is rooted in Hindutva, which emphasizes the cultural and religious identity of India as primarily Hindu.

The BJP’s founding principles include nationalism, social conservatism, and free-market economics. It advocates for a strong and unified India, often promoting policies that prioritize national security and defense. The party has historically been associated with the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS), a Hindu nationalist organization, and draws considerable support from various sections of Indian society, including the urban middle class, business community, and segments of the Hindu majority.

Under the leadership of prominent figures such as Atal Bihari Vajpayee and Narendra Modi, the BJP has experienced both electoral success and controversy. It has governed India for multiple terms, implementing policies focused on economic development, infrastructure improvement, and social welfare programs. However, the party has also faced criticism for its handling of religious and social issues, as well as concerns about its commitment to secularism and minority rights.

When was Congress party defeated in India?

The defeat of the Indian National Congress, often referred to simply as the Congress party, has occurred at various points in Indian political history, both at the national level and in state elections. Here are some notable instances:

  1. 1977 General Elections: This was a significant defeat for the Congress party, marking the end of the Emergency era imposed by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi. The Janata Party alliance, comprising several opposition parties, won a landslide victory, ending Congress’s uninterrupted rule since India’s independence in 1947.
  2. 1989 General Elections: The Congress party suffered another major setback in the 1989 elections. Although it emerged as the single largest party, it failed to secure a majority. As a result, a coalition government led by the National Front came into power, with support from various regional parties.
  3. 1996 General Elections: The Congress party faced defeat again in the 1996 elections. It emerged as the second-largest party but could not form a government. Instead, a coalition government led by the Janata Dal party, with outside support from the Congress, came into power.
  4. 2014 General Elections: The Congress party faced a significant defeat in the 2014 elections, winning only 44 seats out of 543 in the Lok Sabha, the lower house of India’s Parliament. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) led by Narendra Modi secured a landslide victory, forming a majority government.
  5. 2019 General Elections: The Congress party faced another defeat in the 2019 elections. It improved its seat tally compared to 2014 but still fell far short of the BJP’s performance. The BJP won a decisive victory, securing a second consecutive term in office under Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Apart from these general elections, the Congress party has also faced defeats in various state elections across India at different times, leading to changes in state governments and a loss of power at the regional level.

Who is next PM of India?

Predicting the future political leadership of a country is highly uncertain and depends on numerous factors, including electoral outcomes, party dynamics, and the political landscape at the time. As of now, without access to real-time information and developments, it’s not possible to accurately determine who will become the next Prime Minister of India in 2024.

However, based on the 2019 general elections, Narendra Modi of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a second consecutive term as Prime Minister. Whether he continues in this role or if there will be a change in leadership depends on various factors, including the BJP’s internal processes, coalition dynamics, and electoral results in future elections.

Other potential candidates for the prime ministership could emerge from different political parties, depending on their performance and alliances leading up to the 2024 elections. Until then, it remains speculative to identify the next Prime Minister of India with certainty.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top